55min sequence of a red blinking light - Hessdalen Germany

Go to content

Main menu

55min sequence of a red blinking light

September 2012

 

During the Science Camp 2012 researchers from five nations and three TV crews came to Hessdalen. The author of this website has been shooting timelapse sequences with more than 12.000 frames. In the night from November 17th to 18th a camera on Skarvan hill has been recording two noteworthy light phenomena.

From 9:42pm to 10:38pm a red blinking light is moving back and force west of lake Øyungen (map of the event). The slower the light is moving, the brighter does it appear in the shots. When the light is standing still, it becomes overexposed and white in colour. In the fourth frame of the video the light is taking nearly a 180° turn in 15 seconds.

Actually, airplanes can significantly change their direction in 15 seconds (video of a manoeuvre of an airplane in a shot from the Canary Islands). However, a 180° turn within 15 seconds appears not to be doable with a civil airplane.

The light is disappearing behind the slope of a mountain and therefore must be more than 6km away. Drones are usually not equipped with bright LEDs and they usually do not fly during nights with wind speeds of 5 Beaufort.

The camera has been equipped with an optical grating. However, the light was too weak to produce a spectrum. The spectrum in the lower part of the image is from a cabin light outside the frame. For the purpose of analysis, researchers interested in the material can download the original JPEG files recorded between
9:42pm to 10:38pm as RAR file (452MB).

 

Anomal light in the evening of September 17th 2012; please activate full screen and Full HD

 

Composite image of 68 individual frames, recorded from 10:02 to 10:38pm; click to enlarge

At 2:00am and 2:16am a light is appearing against the backdrop of the islands in the lake. As the light can´t be identified in the neighbour frames, the respective duration of the phenomenon must have been below 15 seconds. Above the light phenomenon, at the western shore of the lake, the light of a cabin is visible.

 
 

Point-shaped light appearing at 2:00 and 2:16am over Lake Øyungen; please activate full screen and Full HD

 
 
Back to content | Back to main menu

55-minütige Fotosequenz eines regelmäßig blinkenden Lichtes - Hessdalen Germany

Direkt zum Seiteninhalt

Hauptmenü

55-minütige Fotosequenz eines regelmäßig blinkenden Lichtes

September 2012

 

Zum Science Camp 2012 fanden sich Forscher aus fünf Nationen sowie drei TV-Teams in Hessdalen ein. Der Autor dieser Seite nahm Zeitraffer mit mehr als 12.000 Einzelfotos auf. In der Nacht vom 17. auf den 18. November zeichnete eine Kamera auf dem Skarvan-Hügel zwei bemerkenswerte Lichtphänomene auf.

Zwischen 21:42 Uhr und 22:37 bewegt sich ein rot blinkendes Licht drei Mal westlich des Øyungen-Sees hin und her (siehe Karte). Je langsamer sich das Licht bewegt, desto heller erscheint es auf den Aufnahmen. Steht das Licht still, wird es überbelichtet und erscheint weiß. Im vierten Frame des Videos ist zu sehen, wie das Licht seine Bewegungsrichtung innerhalb von 15 Sekunden um fast 180° ändert.

Flugzeuge können innerhalb von 15 Sekunden durchaus ihre Bewegungsrichtung ändern (Video eines Flugzeugmanövers in einer Aufnahme von den Kanarischen Inseln). Eine Änderung der Bewegungsrichtung um 180° innerhalb von 15 Sekunden scheint mit zivilen Luftfahrzeugen allerdings kaum möglich.

Das Licht verschwindet hinter einem Bergrücken und muss daher mindestens 6km entfernt gewesen sein. Drohnen verfügen weder über sonderlich helle LEDs noch fliegen sie nachts bei einer Windstärke von ca. 5 Beaufort.

Die Kamera war mit einem optischen Gitter ausgestattet. Leider war das Licht zu schwach, um ein Spektrum zu erzeugen. Das Spektrum im unteren Bereich des Bildes stammt von einem Hüttenlicht außerhalb des Bildausschnitts. Interessierte Forscherinnen und Forscher können die JPEG-Rohdaten, die zwischen 21:42 Uhr und 22:38 Uhr aufgenommen wurden, zu Analysezwecken als RAR-Datei herunterladen (452MB).

 

Anomales Licht am Abend des 17. Septembers 2012; bitte Vollbild und Full HD aktivieren

 

Kompositaufnahme aus 68 Einzelbildern, aufgenommen von 22:02 Uhr bis 22:38 Uhr; zum Vergrößern klicken

Um 2:00 Uhr und um 2:16 Uhr taucht ein Licht vor den Inseln des Sees auf. Da das Licht auf den Nachbarframes nicht zu erkennen ist, muss die jeweilige Dauer des Phänomens unter 15 Sekunden betragen haben. Oberhalb des Lichtphänomens, am Westufer des Sees, ist das Licht einer Hütte zu sehen.

 
 

Punktförmiges Licht um 2:00 Uhr und 2:16 Uhr über dem Øyungen-See; bitte Vollbild und Full HD aktivieren.

 
 
Zurück zum Seiteninhalt | Zurück zum Hauptmenü